Friday, May 9, 2008

Covenant Series Review and Conclusion

We’ve finished our seven-week series on the major covenants of the Bible. This series is based on Scott Hahn’s book, A Father Who Keeps His Promises. Those desiring a more detailed study of the covenants can read that book and profit from it.

For those who, like me, enjoy a good summary, here goes.

God created and saves the world in love. We could say that God’s love is relational, existing before all time in the eternal and united divine relationships between God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Spirit. The Trinity is eternal and all holy relationship. The Holy Trinity condescends in grace to create and relate to creation. This relationship is built around covenants, or promises. The Bible contains seven major covenants that teach us of the constancy and character of the Father’s love for His creation.

Covenant 1: Adam – major texts: Genesis 1–2.

Covenant 2: Noah – major texts: Genesis 8:20–9:17.

Covenant 3: Abraham – major texts: Genesis 12:1-3; 15; 17; 22

Covenant 4: Moses – major texts: Exodus 12; 19–20; 24; 32–34; Numbers 12–13; Deuteronomy 30

Covenant 5: David – major texts: Exodus 19:3-6, 2 Samuel 7; Psalms 2, 72, 89, 110

Covenant 6: Jesus – major texts: Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, and the remaining 23 books of the New Testament (plus all 39 of the Old Testament).

Covenant 7: Covenant Consummation – major texts Revelation 21–22

I’d like to go into more detail, but I’ve already done that week by week in the studies. For those who participated, I hope this serves as a good review of the major Bible passages. For those unable to participate in this series, I believe you’ll still profit from knowing this basic outline of the major covenants. And I urge you to read the passages mentioned. I understand the reading for Covenant 6: Jesus may take a little while. You’ll be surprised at how far 15 minutes a day will get you.


Fr G+